Quilt Show!

I am going to be participating in a quilt show this Saturday and Sunday (October 20th & 21st) at the St. James Marketplace in St. James, Nebraska (2 miles east of Wynot on Hwy 12). I am terribly excited about it and have 3 pieces finished to show. It’s been a bit of hectic week trying to get everything done for the show – I never have 3 finished pieces in my house simultaneously – but they’re done. And I’m just pretty darned proud of them too. I know they’ll never win any competitions, but this group is a pretty decent representation of what I do.

I have to provide my own display materials. Knowing that the Marketplace has old plaster walls (few holes for hanging displays), I tried to come up with free-standing setups that were kind of fun, and maybe just a little different too. Hopefully it’s going to work – otherwise I don’t know what to do. It’s been forever since I’ve been to a quilt show, especially one that doesn’t have good places to hang all of the quilts, I really didn’t have anything to reference. I think it will be fine, and I’ll try to post pictures here of the displays after we get everything set up tonight (if not, I’ll get them on Flickr.)

If you don’t have anything to do this weekend, come check out the show as well as the Marketplace. It’s really a neat place that 5 local women have created. There is a cost to get in to the quilt show ($3) as it is a fundraiser for the Corps of Discovery Welcome Center, but I’m sure it will be well-worth it.

If you do come up, give me a call and we can get together to visit!

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quilt Show!

  1. Pingback: National Blog Posting Month « Jill of All Trades

Leave a Reply

