Football Saturday!

There are many wonderful things about this time of year – changing colors, falling leaves, a little nip in the air, the beginning of the holiday season – but the very best thing (at least in my mind) is college football.  I’ll admit it – I’m a junkie.  I watch several games simultaneously all day on Saturdays plus I’ll often get 2-3 games on Thursday and Friday nights, often totaling over a dozen games over the course of a week.  While I am a rabid Husker fan (born and raised), it really doesn’t matter which teams are playing.  I’ve loved football since my high school days when we were forced to attend the home games to play in the band (yes, I was a band dork, but in my school we outnumbered the non-band members).  I have a brother who was 5 years behind me in school, so I tried to catch as many of his high school games as possible while I was in college.  200+ miles were a bit of a hinderance, but I did what I could.  I remember going to his Homecoming game his senior year and spending most of the game showing off my recently recieved engagement ring.  He was fortunate enough to play football at the collegiate level (granted NAIA isn’t Division IA, but it’s still football).  I didn’t get to as many games as I would have liked, but thanks to his college’s radio station and their webcasting, I could at least listen in.  I would have his game playing on the computer, the Huskers on the radio (or television if they had coverage that week), and flipped between at least 2 games on television. 

My husband thinks I’m nuts.  He’s only interested if the Huskers are on or if it’s high school football and someone he knows is playing.  He’s more of a motorsports, poker, and billards fan.  I think we’re slowly converting each other, as I’m developing more of a taste for billards and poker (I’m already a huge NASCAR fan) and he’s becoming more tolerant and interested in college football.

I suppose I could get busy at the sewing machine.  If any of you have made it this far, thanks for tolerating my ramblings.  I’ll try to make next week’s posts a little more interesting for the masses.

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Football Saturday!

  1. Christie says:

    LOL – you and my husband would get along great! He is such a football junkie too. And I used to love this time of year . . .

Leave a Reply

