New music reviews

About once a month or so (depending on the new releases) I shop for new music for my fruit-flavored mp3 player.  Since I’m boring and have nothing new and interesting to tell y’all, I thought I’d share my thoughts on a couple of my favorite recent releases.

I’ll Stay Me, Luke Bryan‘s first offering, is a very impressive album.  While not really recent (released in August), it has withstood the biggest test I have for all new music – repetition.  If I can play it at least once a day and not get sick of it, then it’s  good music.  I think it’s going to be one of my favorite albums of the year.  It’s that good from start to finish. I love the fact he co-writes most of his music.  Sometimes you hear a debut single and you think it sounds good and then you wind up disappointed with the rest of the tracks. That wasn’t so with I’ll Stay Me.  I look for many good things from this young man.

Jason Aldean‘s sophomore album Relentless serves up some similar country rock tunes as those on his self-titled debut.  Jason Aldean can do edgy, and he can do a tender love song, and make you believe it.  Although Jason doesn’t have any of the co-writes on the album, when he sings, he makes you believe that he’s lived each and every word, whether he’s flipping off his boss and quitting his job, or asking his former girl if she’s happy with her new life, or if she wishes that she was still with him.   All in all, I think Relentless is another winner for Jason Aldean. It’s an album you can stick in your CD player (or run on your mp3 player) while you’re driving down the highway, and sing along with every song.

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

