Wow, that was scary! I almost put my eye out!

But only because I’m not to bright sometimes.  I turned my sewing machine on after I got back from having lunch with Chad today and forgot to adjust the needle alignment back to the middle (it defaults to the left).  When I started to sew, the needle drove into the presser foot and broke right at the top of the eye.  The tip that broke off went flying and I felt it hit my face.  I thought it just hit my eyelid (I shut my eyes as I heard the needle break) and fell into my lap, so I carefully got up and headed for the closest mirror (in the bathroom) to check out the damage.  Imagine my horror when I opened my eye and saw the needle tip In. My. Eye.  Not stuck in or anything really scary, but just resting in the corner of my eye.  I’m very glad I resisted the urge to rub my eye. 

I don’t think there’s any damage.  It just scared the living daylights out of me.  But I’ll bet I remember to check the needle setting before I sew!

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wow, that was scary! I almost put my eye out!

  1. Pingback: I fought the rotary cutter & it won OR The dangers of quilting « Jill of All Trades

Leave a Reply

