Christmas Trees

Every year my parents go out to one of their pastures and cut a cedar tree to bring into the house and decorate for Christmas. The smell is fabulous and why pay for a tree when you can get one for free?

When I was in college, Mom started getting the Christmas tree during Thanksgiving weekend so that I could help decorate it before I went back to school. Now that I’m married, but still living 200+ miles away, she continues to get her tree early (when we were little tree went up the first weekend in December) so that I can decorate it. I had called about something else last weekend, but Mom made sure to tell me that she has her tree all picked out. She sent the guys out to get it this morning.

I guess I’m decorating Mom’s tree today and my own next week when we get it. It’s standing in a pasture with a red flag on it, just waiting for a date with the chain saw. Chad & I picked it out a couple of weeks ago – just like my family did when we were kids.

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

