Let the whirlwind begin!

Happy Holidays from snowy northeast Nebraska!  We’re expecting snow again today, although it’s not supposed to be any measureable amount.  It could be a very long winter if we have snow on the ground from now until April Fool’s Day. 

The whirlwind of holiday celebrations and travel begins today. Really, it probably started a couple of weeks ago with events at work, but the family and friend celebrations are what really count in my book.  Chad and I (and our almost 5 year old dog) celebrated Christmas last night by opening our presents.  Well, most of them anyway.  Chad still has one to open (or at least see), but it’s at my parents’ house, so it will have to wait a couple of days.  I may be mean and make him wait until Christmas Day!  Today I’m doing laundry and starting to pack for the 200+ mile trek south to my parents’ house.  Tonight is dinner and a gift exchange with Chad’s extended family.  It will be a loud rowdy crowd, but it’s always a good time.  Tomorrow we will travel south and then are celebrating with a neighbor who is more like family than just a friend.  Monday is Christmas Eve and a quiet day for catching up with my brother, his fiance, and my parents.  We’ll probably do a bit of cooking for Christmas too, and there is church that evening.  Christmas Day we’ll stay home and just hang out, probably playing with our new “toys” and then we have supper with the whole group of Bauschs and a gift exchange.  Wednesday is Dad’s birthday and travelling home so that Chad can go back to work on Thursday.

Whew! That makes me tired just typing it!  I guess I’d better get busy and get some laundry done.  Merry Christmas everyone and I’ll see you after we get home!

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

