A Ghostly Tale

Let me start with some background before I get into the story too deep.  I met my husband July 4, 2002.  Both of his parents died in 2001 so I never met either of them, but Chad has always believed that his mom had something to do with us meeting.  The set of circumstances related to both of us being in the same place at the same time is really too bizarre to just have been coincidence.  Anyway, Chad inheirited their house, and was living there when we met.  Actually, we’re still living there.

Shortly after we announced our engagement, a note/poem congratulating us appeared on the refrigerator.  We have no idea where it came from – if someone in Chad’s family is responsible for it, no one is talking.  We’ve always kind of assumed that it was Chad’s mom’s way of letting us know that she approved of me.  During the first year or so that we were married some odd things occurred.  Chairs would be moving (like someone just got out of them) when I was the only one home and had been nowhere near the chair.  Or I would leave something in one place and when I went back to get it, it had been moved somewhere else (again, I was the only one home).  After about a year or so, these strange events pretty much stopped.  Sure, there was an occasional occurrance, but they became rarer and further apart.

Last week, it happened again.  I had the television in the kitchen on and was sitting at the table, sewing.  I wasn’t really watching it – more using it for noise – when all of a sudden the channel changed.  I did have the remote on the table, but it was nowhere near where I was working.  So I didn’t think too much of it; I just changed the channel back to what I was watching/listening to and went back to work.  Chad came home from work and headed for the shower (still downstairs since the bathroom isn’t functional yet – that’s another story) so we could get to his pool league game on time.  While he was in the shower, I went to the computer (at the far end of the kitchen from the tv) to check on a couple of things.  I glanced back at the television and noticed that the satellite menu was showing.  No one had touched the remote – it was still on the table – halfway across the room from me.  So I got up, cleared the menu off of the screen, and went back to the computer – leaving the remote on the table.  A couple of minutes later the channel changed again, seemingly all by itself.  I (again) got up to change it back and had a little ‘chat’ with Chad’s mom.  It hasn’t happened again.

Weird?  Yes.  Scary?  Not really.  I guess I think she was just messing with me.  I figure if she didn’t like me (and/or wanted to hurt me) she’s had plenty of opportunities (5 years) to do something mean.  Especially since I’m home by myself all day on Saturdays while Chad is at work. 

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Ghostly Tale

  1. Christie says:

    Wow – that is a great story. I don’t think she wants to hurt you either. Sounds more like she’s got a sense of humor!

  2. Carrie says:

    Wow! I would still be totally freaked out–even if I was certain no harm was going to come!

Leave a Reply

