Why can’t I just (re)learn to say no?

Like most toddlers around the age of two, I was quite proficient with my usage of the word “No.”  I would say no to everything (and often did) for days on end.  Often, my mother would reprimand me for telling her no.

I think I learned that lesson too well.

Now, at the ripe old age of 28 (wow, when did I get that old!),  I have trouble saying no to anyone.

Last night, one of Chad’s aunt’s called to find out what we were doing for Thanksgiving.  The two of them were chatting away and I was busy quilting some pot holders.  Then Chad brings the phone to me – his aunt had a question for me.   Last winter she had brought me a bunch of rectangles cut from old jeans and wanted to know if I would put them together into a couple of rag quilts for her.  My answer was automatically “Of course, I’d love to!” (or something to that effect).  I started on them while we were renovating our bathroom and could sew a bit before Chad got home from work and between holding drywall sheets.  Then my brother and his then-fiance decided to come visit for a weekend, which meant we had to get the bathroom finished and the rest of the house cleaned.  So the rag quilt pieces got boxed up and put upstairs in a corner.  Where I promptly forgot about them.

Until last night, when Chad’s aunt reminded me about them.  I couldn’t even remember where they were – we went hunting for them after I got off of the phone.  (Bonus – I did get part of my sewing room cleaned up during the hunt.)  Because I feel so bad for forgetting them for all of this time, I’m moving them to the top of my to-do list which is already too long anyway.  I have 2 small quilts to quilt and bind, 4 twin sized quilts to make to fill an order, a pair of photo pillow shams to match a quilt I made a year ago to fill another order, 4 small crayon rolls to make for orders, and a king sized quilt to finish binding for a gift.  Plus, my full time job to do, keep up on the housework, holiday stuff (cards, decorating, etc.), and pay attention to my husband and dog since they put up with me every day.

Can I request 36 hour days for the next month?

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

