Newsy bits & a reality check

Happy belated Thanksgiving!  We spent the long holiday weekend at my parents’ house.  It was a nice trip, filled with lots of food, family, friends, and (of course) shopping!  I finished what little Christmas shopping I needed to do and Mom got all of hers done too.  Now I just have to get it all wrapped!  We came home a little early yesterday so that we could go get our tree and get it up.  Chad helped me get the lights and decorations up – now it just needs tinsel.  I think that’s tonight’s project.  I’m glad the tree is up – it really seems like the Christmas season is short this year since Thanksgiving was so late – and I just love the smell of fresh cedar in the house.

Over the weekend some friends lost their home to a fire.  Thankfully no one was home at the time, but by the time the fire department got to the scene, it was too late to save the house.  They lost pretty much everything.  They didn’t have insurance, so the community is really gearing up to help them out.  We drove by yesterday when we went to get our Christmas tree.  It was really sad to see the charred remains of their lives being pushed into a pile with a payloader.

When I sat down to pay bills last night, the top one was our homeowner’s insurance.  Yeah, it seemed a little high when I first glanced at it when it arrived, but after seeing what was left of their home I had no problem writing that check.  I know that our friends lost so much more than just the “stuff” that filled their home, but I can’t help but think that a big, fat check from an insurance company would make rebuilding their lives that much easier.  So I happily mailed the next year’s premium to our insurance company.

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

