Descent into the darkness

I’m about two weeks away from the anniversary of Chad’s death. Even without a calendar I could tell you that the date is approaching. Laughter is harder to come by, smiles are fewer, memories are crowding in, and I’m always tired. School started this week, which is a major trigger for me. It reminds me that Labor Day is just around the corner.

I love fall – the cooler temperatures, leaves changing colors, football . . . but the beginning of the season is a painful reminder. I feel myself beginning to slide into a funk, the likes of which I haven’t seen for awhile now. I hate that it’s happening but I’m not quite sure how to stop it either. Distractions help. And the days leading up to September 6th will (hopefully!) be worse than the actual day itself.

Guess there isn’t much I can do but put my head down and muddle through. . . . .

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

