New beginnings

2011 has been a year of new beginnings for me.  In January I bought my first house, moved, and started a new job.  March brought the official end of my time as a resident of northeast Nebraska when I sold the house that Chad and I had lived in (I still need/want to do a post on that – it’s in the works!).  Summer arrived and with it came another milestone.  Dating.

Yes, I have returned to the realm of dating.  Apprehensively, cautiously, and curiously I dipped my toes into the stormy waters of the dating pool.  Fortunately I’ve gotten lucky and found a sweet, understanding guy who seems genuinely interested in me as well.  We met online (gasp!  oh, the horror!) and have spent countless hours talking – first via chat, then voice chat before exchanging phone numbers so we could text and/or call.  We have met in person, but live a couple hundred miles apart so we don’t get to see each other as much as we would like.  Thank goodness for technology!  While cell phones are handy, voice and video chat make up the bulk of our conversations.  I constantly find myself marvelling at how easy he is to talk with – it’s not uncommon for us to talk for a couple of hours in the evening.

I haven’t really mentioned him to my family yet, for a couple of reasons.  One, there is something special about a new relationship.  Telling others about it opens it – and me – up to judgement and criticism.  Two, while we are very compatible, there is a significant difference in our ages.  While it doesn’t really bother me, I don’t know how my friends and family will react to it.  I want them to like him, not just because I do, but because of who he is.  I’m afraid they won’t be able to see beyond the age gap.  It’s too bad that they can’t get to know him first then meet him.  Wishful thinking I know, but I can dream right?

Maybe I’m not giving them enough credit.  Maybe they won’t notice or mind.  Maybe they’ll be so excited and happy for me that they can overlook this one issue?  I’d like to think so and I know they only want the best for me, but let’s be realistic.  I don’t know how they will react.  And that makes me want to keep this little secret quiet for a little longer.

About mrsleise

I am a thirty-something woman trying to create a new life after the death of my husband. I am employed at a postsecondary educational institution. I also create quilts and shoot photographs. I just happen to be lucky enough to get paid for doing both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment